Trainees

Click here 2014-2015 Trainees to view and/or download a 6 pages document of all current trainees

Second Year Trainees

SCampbell

Stephanie Campbell

Email: stephi.campbell@alumni.ubc.ca

Supervisor: Dr. Brad Hoffman
Email: brad.hoffman@ubc.ca

Lab: Child and Family Research Institute

Project: Use of chromatin-modifying factors in reprogramming to generate β-cells

SChow

Samuel Chow

Email: sam.zwchow@gmail.com

Supervisor: Dr. Jan Ehses
Email: jan.ehses@ubc.ca

Lab: Child and Family Research Institute

Project: Gp130 receptor signaling as a mediator of α-cell dysfunction in type 2 diabetes

RHoeppli

Romy Hoeppli

Email: romy.hoeppli@alumni.ubc.ca

Supervisor: Dr. Megan Levings
Email: megan.levings@ubc.ca

Lab: Child and Family Research Institute

Project: Regulatory T cell therapy in transplantation

AHosseini

Ali Hosseini

Email: ali.hosseini@alumni.ubc.ca

Supervisor: Dr. Christopher Carlsten
Email: carlsten@mail.ubc.ca

Lab: Occupational and Environmental Lung Disease, VGH

Project: Combined allergen and diesel exhaust in human airway submucosa synergizes innate and immune responses associated with organ rejection

SJo

Sumin Jo

Email: suminjo@alumni.ubc.ca

Supervisor: Dr. Peter van den Elzen / Dr. Gregor Reid
Email: pvde@mail.ubc.ca / grogreid@mail.ubc.ca

Lab: Child & Family Research Institute

Project: Hematopoietic stem cell transplantation (HSCT)

CLaver

Chris Laver

Email: claver@alumni.ubc.ca

Supervisor: Dr. Kevin Gregory-Evans
Email: kge30@mail.ubc.ca

Lab: Gregory-Evans Retinal Therapeutics Lab

Project: Generation and transplantation of photoreceptor precursor cells (PPCs) for the treatment of retinal degeneration

APesenacker

Anne Pesenacker

Email: a.pesenacker@ubc.ca

Supervisor: Dr. Megan Levings
Email: megan.levings@ubc.ca

Lab: Child & Family Research Institute

Project: The role of chemokine production by T regulatory cells

SShakibakho

Soroush Shakibakho

Email: soroush.shakiba@gmail.com

Supervisor: Dr. Alice Mui
Email: alice.mui@ubc.ca

Lab: Jack Bell Research Centre

Project: Cell regulatory networks involved in graft accommodation or rejection

DWu

Dan Wu

Email: dan.wu@alumni.ubc.ca

Supervisor: Dr. Megan Levings
Email: megan.levings@ubc.ca

Lab: Child and Family Research Institute

Project: Gene signatures of transplantation tolerance

EXu

Eric Xu

Email: ericxu@cfri.ca

Supervisor: Dr. Francis Lynn
Email: francis.lynn@ubc.ca

Lab: Child & Family Research Institute

Project: Sox4 regulates pancreatic endocrine cell development

PYenki

Parvin Yenki

Email: ericxu@cfri.ca

Supervisor: Dr. Chris Ong
Email: chris.ong@ubc.ca

Lab: Jack Bell Research Centre

Project: Borrelidin as a novel immunosuppressive strategy to reduce transplant rejection

First Year Trainees

MAharoni

Michal, Aharoni-Simon

Email: michal60@gmail.com

Supervisor: Dr. Dan Luciani
Email: dan.luciani@gmail.com

Lab: Child and Family Research Institute

Project: Roles of BcL-2 in β-Cell Oxidative Stress in Diabetes and Pancreatic Islet Transplantation

LCook

Laura Cook

Email: laura.cook28@gmail.com

Supervisor: Dr. Megan Levings
Email: megan.levings@ubc.ca

Lab: Child & Family Research Institute

Project: Optimizing an ex vivo Treg expansion protocol for use in transplantation therapy

NDawson

Nicholas Dawson

Email: n.dawson@me.com

Supervisor: Dr. Megan Levings
Email: megan.levings@ubc.ca

Lab: Child & Family Research Institute

Project: Immune reconstitution and gene signatures of transplant tolerance

NKhazamipour

Nastaran Khazamipour

Email: n_khazamipour@yahoo.com

Supervisor: Dr. Alice Mui
Email: alice.mui@ubc.ca

Lab:Jack Bell Research Centre

Project: Mimicking interleukin-10 to prevent graft rejection

MKhosravi

Mohsen Khosravi Maharlooei

Email: mk.maharlooei@gmail.com

Supervisor: Dr. Aziz Ghahary
Email: aziz.ghahary@ubc.ca

Lab: Ghahary lab, ICORD Centre

Project: A novel cell therapy based approach for induction of immune tolerance to allo-transplantation

MMonajemi

Mahdis Monajemi

Email: mmonajemi@cfri.ca

Supervisor: Dr. Laura Sly
Email: laurasly@mail.ubc.ca

Lab: Sly Lab, Child and Family Research Institute

Project: The Carma/Bcl-10/Malt1 complex regulates NFkB-driven inflammation

AMoulson

Aaron Moulson

Email: aaronmoulson@gmail.com

Supervisor: Dr. Wolfram Tetzlaff
Email: tetzlaff@icord.org

Lab: Blusson Spinal Cord Centre

Project: The functional contribution of transplanted skin-derived precursor (SKP) Schwann cells

VNizamudheen

Vahitha Shameem Nizamudhee

Email: vahitha@alumni.ubc.ca

Supervisor: Dr. Cheryl Gregory-Evans
Email: cge30@eyecarecentre.org

Lab: Eye Care Centre, Vancouver General Hospital

Project: Transplantation of genetically engineered mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) to reverse anterior segment eye defects in aniridia causing glaucoma and subsequent blindness

MPakyari

Mohammadreza Pakyari

Email: sam.pakyari@gmail.com

Supervisors: Dr. Erin Brown and Dr. Aziz Ghahary

Emails: erin.brown@ubc.ca and aziz.ghahary@ubc.ca

Lab: Plastic Surgery; Ghahary lab, ICORD Centre
Project: Development of non-rejectable skin graft by induction of local immune tolerance

EPanzhinskiy

Evgeniy Panzhinskiy

Email: evgeniy.panzhinskiy@ubc.ca

Supervisor: Dr. James D Johnson
Email: james.d.johnson@ubc.ca

Lab: James Johnson's lab, Life Science Center

Project: Targeted and untargeted approaches to reversing ER-stress in pancreatic β-cells

NQuiskamp

Nina Quiskamp

Email: quiskamp@mail.ubc.ca

Supervisor: Dr. Timothy Kieffer
Email: tim.kieffer@ubc.ca

Lab: Laboratory of Molecular and Cellular Medicine, Life Science Center

Project: Treatment of Diabetes with Stem Cell Derived Islets

KRey

Kevin Rey

Email: peru.rey@gmail.com

Supervisor: Dr. Jonathan Choy
Email: jonathan.choy@sfu.ca

Lab: Department of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, SFU

Project: The role and underlying mechanism of IL-17 in transplant vasculopathy

FWang

Frank Wang

Email: tianren.wang@mail.utoronto.ca

Supervisor: Dr. Alice Mui
Email: alice.mui@ubc.ca

Lab:Jack Bell Research Centre

Project: Cell regulatory networks involved in graft accommodation or rejection

HWong

Helen Wong

Email: hwyunshan@gmail.com

Supervisor: Dr. Lucy Marzban
Email: lucy.marzban@ubc.ca

Lab: VGH Research Pavilion

Project: Mechanisms of Amyloid-Induced β-cell Death in Islet Culture and Transplantation