News & Honours

#DifferentTogether Pledge
Take the #DifferentTogether Pledge Read More >

2020 Chung Lectureship – Dr. Melanie Morris
In lieu of an in-person gathering for our annual Chung Research Day, the UBC Department of Surgery will instead be hosting a virtual Chung Lectureship. We look forward to welcoming Dr. Melanie Morris on November 18, 2020 from 7-8am. A poster for the event is  available here. Read More >

Dr. Alex Seal wins a UBC Postgraduate Faculty & Staff Wellness Award
The UBC Postgraduate Faculty & Staff Wellness Award honours faculty and staff members in postgraduate medical education who demonstrate leadership in resident wellness. Dr. Alex Seal, Program Director of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, is one of the recipients of the 2020 awards. His residents have many things to say about his commitment to resident wellness […] Read More >

Faculty Spotlight
Learn about Dr. Lea's path to pursuing otolaryngology, involvement in BC First Nations communities and top advice for students interested in global surgery! Read More >

Dr. Daphne Lu has been elected Resident Doctors of BC President
Dr. Lu is a third year resident in General Surgery at the University of British Columbia. Read More >

Dr. Glenn Regehr awarded international prize for medical education
UBC’s Dr. Glenn Regehr has been awarded the 2020 Karolinska Institutet Prize for Research in Medical Education, becoming the tenth recipient of the prestigious international prize. Read More >

Brighter Smiles program approved for renewed funding from the First Nations Health Authority
Brighter Smiles is an innovative service-learning initiative Read More >

2019–2020 BISC Instructor Appreciation
Dr. Penny and Dr. Poenaru are recognized for the significant contributions as two UBC BISC Instructors Read More >

Pinpointing the cause of COVID-19-related inflammatory surge
Dr. Alice Mui has received CIHR funding for COVID-19 related research Read More >

Safe Surgical Care: Strategies During a Pandemic
Dr. Emelie Joos (General Surgery) prepared this course over a period of five weeks during the pandemic while still performing her functions as a trauma surgeon at VGH. It is offered free online. To date, enrolment has included over 1100 people from different walks of life (not all surgeons), half are from Canada, the remainder from over […] Read More >

MSFHR Health Professional-Investigator Award
The Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research (MSFHR) has renewed Dr. Andrew Thamboo (Otolaryngology)’s Health Professional-Investigator Award for his work “Understanding a potentially common upper airway disorder: Empty nose syndrome” . The MSFHR Health Professional-Investigator Program is designed to develop BC’s research talent and help decrease the gap between health research and its implementation. […] Read More >