News & Honours

Trauma Distinction Achieved – First in Canada!
In February 2016, this Regional Trauma Program participated in Accreditation Canada’s new Trauma Distinction Program and has now received the Trauma Distinction Award—the first program in Canada to do so. Read More >

Control of Endocrine Cell Fate
Dr. Brad Hoffman has won an NSERC operating grant to study the role of .... Read More >

Excellence in Teaching and Mentorship
Dr. Lucy Marzban has received a 2016 Killam Teaching Prize Read More >

Academic Year End Celebration
On June 13, 2016 the UBC Department of Surgery will gather together for their annual Academic Year End Celebration. Read More >

Inaugural Mini-CRASH Course
The inaugural Mini-CRASH Course took place July 2016. Read More >

Faculty Spotlight – Dr. Scott Tyldesley
Dr. Scott Tyldesley, Clinical Professor, Division of Radiation Oncology, UBC and Radiation Oncologist, BC Cancer Agency Read More >

Congratulations to the winner of the 2016 Dorken Award for Excellence in Service
Albert Ho, IT Manager, CESEI Read More >

Time off to do research
Congratulations on receiving a 2015 UBC Killam Research Fellowship in the senior category.... Read More >

International recognition
Professor of Neurosurgery, Dr. Paul Steinbok, has won the University of the West Indies’ Vice Chancellor’s Award.... Read More >

Dr. Thomas Dignan Indigenous Health Award
Associate Professor, Dr. Nadine Caron, General Surgery has won the Royal College of Canada’s Dr. Thomas Dignan Indigenous Health Award.… Read More >

Resident Spotlight – Dr. Gautamn Sarwal
Q & A with Dr. Gautamn Sarwal, Vascular & Endovascular Surgery Resident, PGY-1... Read More >