Congratulations to our graduates and award winners!

On June 23, 2021 faculty, staff, residents and fellows attended a virtual celebration to recognize the Department of Surgery award winners and recent graduates. In addition to learning about the accomplishments of the graduating residents and MSc in Surgery students from the Program Directors, the very first cohort of the Master of Global Surgical Care graduates were honoured. Dr. Redekop, Department Head, congratulated the fellows and thanked them for their contributions. The final part of the program was an Awards Video recognizing the incredible achievements of a few stand out individuals.

Academic Year End Event Recording

Award Winners Video

Past UBC Department of Surgery Award Winners




2021 Award Winners

H. Rocke Robertson Award

Serge Makarenko

A.D. Forward Post Graduate Teaching Award

Andrew Thamboo

Best Resident Teaching Award

Alghalya Al Maawali

A.D. McKenzie Clinical Teaching Award

Hannah Piper

A.W.D. Bill Knox Award

Keerit Tauh

I.B. Holubitsky Memorial Award

Dimitri Coutsinos

Dr. G Warnock Award

Diana Forbes

Nis Schmidt History of Surgery Prize

Trina Stephens

Nicky Dorken for Staff Excellence Award

Parm Sidhu


2021 Graduates

MSc in Surgery

Najah Adreak
Edward Percy
Mina Salehi

Master of Global Surgical Care

Ryan Falk
Sydney Girard
Regan Guilfoyle
David Isa
Rupinder Khotar
Lorenz Yeung

Colorectal Surgery

Francois Fournier

General Surgery

Rihab Al Lawati
Katrina Duncan
Kathleen Garber
Graeme Hintz
Daniel Lustig
Emily Mackay
Shiana Manoharan


Mostafa Fatehi Hassanabad


Ethan Newton

Pediatric Surgery

Alghalya Al Maawali

Radiation Oncology

Katie Jasper
Justin Oh
Jordan Wong

Surgical Oncology

Christina Lee

Thoracic Surgery

Dimitrios Coutsinos
Essa Alghunaim

Vascular Surgery

Gautamn Sarwal
Adrian Fung